Welcome to the new web site of MARTHA BISHOP

Viola da Gamba,
Double Bass,
Basse de Violon,
Viola Bastarda and

Martha Bishop in keeping with Baroque performance practice, plays several bass instruments, including Baroque cello, viola da gamba, basse de violon, Baroque bass, violoncello piccolo and viola bastarda. She performs with New Trinity Baroque, the Atlanta Baroque Orchestra, the Westminster String Quartet, and Atlanta Camerata. She has also performed with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Knoxville Early Music Project, Harmonie Universelle, and the Atlanta Bach Choir. She performed as soloist with the Atlanta Symphony in Bach’s “St John Passion” and Brandenburg Concerto No. 6. Her viola da gamba studies were with John Hsu at Cornell University and her modern cello studies were with Elizabeth Cowling at University of North Carolina at Greensboro, with subsequent studies with Mary Gray Clark, William Klenz, Walter Steinhaus and Martha Gerschevski.



Copyright (c) 2006-2007 Martha Bishop | Web Design by | Photo credit: Richard Calmes